Debra Bénard

Country: France

Debra Bénard: I live in France and have been a judge of canine freestyle and HTM in Switzerland (Dogdance association) since 2007.

I first discovered Heelwork to Music in 1998, thanks to a video of Crufts. When I saw Mary Ray’s performance with her wonderful dog Kizzy, to “Hooked on Classics”, I was hooked!!!

In 2000 I attended an agility seminar in England and met Mary and Dave Ray in person. Their friendship and encouragement, and the lessons I have learned while watching Mary with her dogs close up, have sent me on my way.

In France at that time, no one knew anything about HTM or freestyle. My objective was, through articles in the magazine Sans Laisse, to popularize this wonderful sport.

The articles were published starting in 2001; the year 2004 saw the inauguration of a website,, which is still used by French speakers in learning the basic moves.

In 2005-2007 I collaborated with Attila Szkukalek to translate into French and record the French voice-over for his two wonderful videos, “Rhythmic Paws” and “Rhythmic Paws II”. The first video demonstrated the brilliant freestyle moves in his “Charlie Chaplin” routine, while the second concentrated on the amazing distance work in “Gladiator”.

Working with Attila on that project gave me the closest possible insight into advanced training techniques. Thank you, Attila!

However, I will be the first to admit that my work with my own dogs in the ring has not been overwhelmingly successful. I have had two Shelties and two Belgian Tervuerens, all equally brilliant in doing dogdance – backstage!

As they say, “Those who can, do – and those who can’t, teach”

Or - serve as judges. Somebody’s got to do it – otherwise, there would be no competitions!

So: knowledge of the sport, sensitivity to the efforts of the dogs and handlers who practise it and commitment to the proper application of its rules, these are the things I hope to contribute while judging canine freestyle and HTM at the World Dog Show, Moscow, 2016.

This is an immense privilege. I look forward to enriching contacts with my colleagues, both judges and competitors, and will be glad to help out in every way I can, including through my reasonably good knowledge of Russian.

До скорой встречи!

International Judging experience

  • 2014 - Berne - Swiss Open
  • 2014 - Milano
  • 2013 - Lengnau - Swiss Open
  • 2013 - Dortmund - German Open
  • 2013 - Berne
  • 2011 - Freiburg am Breisgau (Germany)
  • 2011 - Waldheimat (Langenwang, Austria)
  • 2010 - Vienna

Дебра Бенард

Страна: Франция

Дебра Бенард: Я живу во Франции и являюсь судьей Кинологического фристайла и HTM «Движение рядом под музыку» в Швейцарии (Ассоциация «Dogdance») с 2007 года.

Впервые я открыла для себя HTM «Движение рядом под музыку» в 1998 году, благодаря видео и Craft. Когда я впервые увидела выступление Мэри Рэй с ее замечательной собакой Киззи под композицию “Hooked on Classics”, я был очарована!!!

В 2000 году я приняла участие в семинаре по аджилити в Англии, и там встретилась лично с Мэри и Дейвом Рей. Их дружба и ободрение, а также знания, которые я приобрела, наблюдая за сближением Мэри с ее собаками, направили меня на мой путь.

В то время во Франции никто ничего не знал о «HTM» и «Фристайл». Моей целью стало рассказать людям об этом замечательном виде спорта через статьи журнала «Sans Laisse».
Статьи публиковались с 2001 года, в 2004 году состоялось торжественное открытие веб сайта www.obe-rythmee.com , который по сей день используется франкоговорящим населением для обучения основных движений.

С 2005 по 2007 я сотрудничала с Аттилой Зкукалек, чтобы переводиться на французский язык и записывать французские закадровый голос для двух замечательных ролика "Ритмичные Лапы" и " лапы II". Первое видео продемонстрировало выдающееся исполнение движений фристайла в его выступлении "Чарли Чаплин", в то время как во втором основное внимание было уделено потрясающей работе на расстоянии в выступлении под названием "Гладиатор".

Работа с Аттилой в этом проекте дала мне возможность понимание передовых методов обучения. Спасибо тебе, Аттила!

Тем не менее, я должна признать, что моя работа с собаками в ринге не была в подавляющем большинстве успешной. У меня было два шелти и два бельгийских тервюрена, все они одинаково блестяще танцевали - за кулисами!

Как говорится, "Те, кто могут, делают, а те, кто не могут, учат".

Или - судят. Кто-то ведь должен это делать - в противном случае, не было бы ни одного соревнования!

Итак: знание этих видов спорта, понимание возможности собак и хендлеров, ответственное отношение к выполнению правил, вот те вещи, которые я надеюсь привнести, будучи судьей на соревнованиях по «HTM» и «Фристайл» на World Dog Show в Москве в 2016 году.

Для меня эта большая честь. Я с нетерпением жду новых знакомств с коллегами, как с судьями, так и участниками, и буду рада оказать любую помощь, используя свои неплохие знания русского языка.

Международный Судейский опыт:

  • 2014 - Берн – Швейцария открытые
  • 2014 - Милан
  • 2013 - Ленгнау - Швейцария открытые
  • 2013 - Дортмунд – Германия открытые
  • 2013 - Берн
  • 2011 - Фрайбург-им-Брайсгау (Германия)
  • 2011 - Waldheimat (Langenwang, Австрия)
  • 2010 - Вена